Configuring Command Levels


If you do not change a command level separately, all originally registered commands automatically change based on the following rules after the command level is updated:

  • The commands of Level 0 and Level 1 remain unchanged.

  • The commands of Level 2 are updated to Level 10 and the commands of Level 3 are updated to Level 15.

  • No commands exist in Level 2 to Level 9 and Level 11 to Level 14. You can change the commands to these levels separately to refine rights management.

Do not change the default level of a command. If the default level of a command is changed, some users may be unable to use the command any longer.


  1. Run system-view

    The system view is displayed.

  2. Run command-privilege level rearrange

    The command levels are updated in batches.

  3. Run command-privilege level level view view-name command-key

    The level of a command is set in a specified view.

    All commands have default command views and levels. Generally, you do not need to configure them.

    The command lines are classified into visit level (0), monitoring level (1), configuration level (2), and management level (3) in an ascending order.
    Table 1 Command level description

    User Class (0 to 3)

    User Class (0 to 15)

    Command Level

    Type Name





    Visit level

    Commands of this level include ping, tracert, and Telnet (commands used to access a remote device).


    1 to 9

    0, 1

    Monitoring level

    Commands of this level are used for system maintenance, such as display commands.

    Not all display commands are of the monitoring level. For example, the display current-configuration commands for configuration file management are of management level (3).


    10 to 14

    0, 1, 2

    Configuration level

    Service configuration commands are of this level.



    0, 1, 2, 3

    Management level

    Commands of the management level are used for system basic operation to support services, including file system, FTP, Trivial File Transfer Protocol (TFTP), and configuration file switching commands, slave board control commands, user management commands, command level configuration commands, reboot commands, and debugging commands.

  4. Run commit

    The configuration is committed.

Copyright © Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
Copyright © Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
< Previous topic Next topic >